The Story of Arthur Truluv.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Date:
      Essay last updated: 20170525
    • Lexile:
      970
    • Full Text Word Count:
      233
    • ISSN:
      03630277
    • Accession Number:
      123211106
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      GIBBS, B. The Story of Arthur Truluv. Library Journal, [s. l.], v. 142, n. 9, p. 69, 2017. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 19 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Gibbs B. The Story of Arthur Truluv. Library Journal. 2017;142(9):69. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580. Accessed November 19, 2019.
    • APA:
      Gibbs, B. (2017). The Story of Arthur Truluv. Library Journal, 142(9), 69. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Gibbs, Beth. 2017. “The Story of Arthur Truluv.” Library Journal 142 (9): 69. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580.
    • Harvard:
      Gibbs, B. (2017) ‘The Story of Arthur Truluv’, Library Journal, 142(9), p. 69. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580 (Accessed: 19 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Gibbs, B 2017, ‘The Story of Arthur Truluv’, Library Journal, vol. 142, no. 9, p. 69, viewed 19 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Gibbs, Beth. “The Story of Arthur Truluv.” Library Journal, vol. 142, no. 9, May 2017, p. 69. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Gibbs, Beth. “The Story of Arthur Truluv.” Library Journal 142, no. 9 (May 15, 2017): 69. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Gibbs B. The Story of Arthur Truluv. Library Journal [Internet]. 2017 May 15 [cited 2019 Nov 19];142(9):69. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=123211106&custid=s6224580

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2017 June #1

A cemetery might be an odd place for two people to strike up a friendship—especially an elderly man and a teenage girl—but Arthur Moses and Maddy Harris are fairly odd people. Arthur visits the cemetery to talk to his late wife, Nora, though he has a gift for divining the backstories of the graveyard's other permanent residents. Maddy doesn't have a personal connection to this particular cemetery, but she finds the quiet grounds peaceful after the chaos of school and the tension at home. They strike up conversations over picnic lunches and find they have more in common than they ever would have imagined. Maddy's mother passed away when she was young, and Arthur is surprised to find that the teenager is wise beyond her years. This unlikely duo shares secrets, memories, and plans for the future in Elizabeth Berg's inspiring and poignant novel. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 February #2

Lunching daily at the cemetery so that he can engage his late wife in imaginary conversation, Arthur meets troubled teen Maddy, who's avoiding school. Their friendship helps them both—Maddy nicknames her new companion Truluv because he responds so kindly to whatever crazy thing she says—and together they form a new kind of family with Arthur's neighbor Lucille. From the New York Times best-selling author.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2017 May #2

Berg's (The Dream Lover; Durable Goods) latest is the sweet, sentimental tale of an elderly man and a teenager coming into each other's lives at just the right moment. Arthur is mourning the passing of his beloved wife, Nola. Despite the weather, every single day he packs his lunch and takes the bus to the cemetery to chat with Nola while he eats. Maddy is a 16-year-old with a nose ring who gets harshly bullied in school. Her single father isn't capable of parenting her, so she acts out by skipping class and spending time in the cemetery, which she finds calming. After eyeing each other for days, the duo finally start talking. Once she gets to know him, Maddy anoints Arthur with the surname "Truluv." After a particularly difficult turn of events in Maddy's life, she moves in with Arthur, as does his nosy neighbor Lucille, a master baker who spreads her love with cookies and caramel bars. VERDICT In the vein of Fannie Flagg, this life-affirming story is a definite choice for Berg's many fans and anyone looking for a little break from the darker novels that have been so popular lately. [See Prepub Alert, 1/18/17.]—Beth Gibbs, Davidson, NC

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2017 September #1

Arthur, the title character of the latest from Berg (Talk Before Sleep), does not enjoy living alone. Since his wife's death, the best part of his daily routine is visiting the cemetery to eat lunch at her grave. The only other constants in his life are taking care of his cat and keeping his distance from his nosy neighbor, Lucille. Then he meets Maddy, a troubled teen who is bullied at school and misunderstood by her father at home, and who has taken to hanging out at the cemetery to be by herself. The two form a bond, and when Maddy gets pregnant with her ex-boyfriend's baby, she seeks Arthur's help. Together with Lucille, who has recently faced her own tragic loss, the three form something like a family. Berg's novel is as comforting as Lucille's fresh-baked cookies, with plenty of charm and memorable characters. Readers will be taken by this story about how friendship can defy any generation gap and how it's never too late to find a new purpose in life. (Nov.)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.