The Best of Adam Sharp.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Date:
      Essay last updated: 20170211
    • Lexile:
      730
    • Full Text Word Count:
      226
    • ISSN:
      03630277
    • Accession Number:
      121212817
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      NESBITT, R. The Best of Adam Sharp. Library Journal, [s. l.], v. 142, n. 3, p. 84, 2017. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580. Acesso em: 25 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Nesbitt R. The Best of Adam Sharp. Library Journal. 2017;142(3):84. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580. Accessed February 25, 2020.
    • APA:
      Nesbitt, R. (2017). The Best of Adam Sharp. Library Journal, 142(3), 84.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Nesbitt, Robin. 2017. “The Best of Adam Sharp.” Library Journal 142 (3): 84. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580.
    • Harvard:
      Nesbitt, R. (2017) ‘The Best of Adam Sharp’, Library Journal, 142(3), p. 84. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580 (Accessed: 25 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Nesbitt, R 2017, ‘The Best of Adam Sharp’, Library Journal, vol. 142, no. 3, p. 84, viewed 25 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Nesbitt, Robin. “The Best of Adam Sharp.” Library Journal, vol. 142, no. 3, Feb. 2017, p. 84. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Nesbitt, Robin. “The Best of Adam Sharp.” Library Journal 142, no. 3 (February 15, 2017): 84. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Nesbitt R. The Best of Adam Sharp. Library Journal [Internet]. 2017 Feb 15 [cited 2020 Feb 25];142(3):84. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=lfh&AN=121212817&custid=s6224580

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2017 March #2

A one-word e-mail sets Adam's life ablaze. Nearing 50, between jobs, and sleeping separately from his longtime partner, Claire, Adam is poised for the reignition. He recalls—as much as he can recall what he can't forget—falling in love with Angelina, the e-mail's sender, in Melbourne, back when he'd left England for a short work contract more than 20 years ago. There he passed lonely evenings by playing piano, his passion, at a bar, and music was his and Angelina's first, sparking connection. (A playlist of the book's many evoked songs is cleverly available at the end of the book, as well as online.) As his and Angelina's communications escalate, Adam examines his life, takes up running again, returns to the piano, and emotionally reconnects with the music he loves. A leap-or-don't moment arises, and the outcome of Adam's decision surprises him perhaps most of all. Sensitive, witty Adam is a terrifically chummy narrator for fan-favorite Simsion's (The Rosie Effect, 2014) funny, sexy, and above all musical portrayal of the roles memory and fantasy play in midlife's yearnings. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 January #1

After The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect, both LibraryReads Top Ten titles, Simsion gives us Adam Sharp, reasonably contented with his life but haunted by his long-ago affair with glorious actress Angelina Brown. Then she reappears.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2017 February #2

Adam Sharp is at home in Norwich, England, reading, when an email pops up. It is from Angelina, the love of his life, from whom Adam hasn't heard in 20 years. Sure he has thought about her and okay, he will admit he's still in love. But they both have moved on. Adam is comfortably married and making a decent living as an IT database architect. He knows Angelina is married with kids. But before long, Adam and Angelina are in an email exchange that feels like an affair, albeit virtually. When Angelina taunts Adam to live recklessly, he jumps at the chance to see if the passion still exists between the two of them. Of course, life is never that simple. Simsion (The Rosie Project; The Rosie Effect) is back with his third novel. While not quite as funny as the Rosie books, this is an entertaining read that asks, what would you do if you had another chance with the "one who got away?" VERDICT A bittersweet read for fans of Simsion's previous works as well as readers who enjoy Emily Giffin, Sophie Kinsella, or Jane Green. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/16.]—Robin Nesbitt, Columbus Metropolitan Lib., OH

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2017 March #1

In Simsion's third novel (after The Rosie Effect), an email from an old flame, Angelina Brown, spurs British computer guy Adam Sharp to reassess what he wants from life. Though their affair was short-lived and over two decades before, Adam still believes Angelina is his soul mate. He's been involved with Claire for decades, but their relationship is mostly practical, and a business deal might require her to move from England to the U.S. Email flirtations with Angelina escalate into Skype conversations and culminate in an invitation to join Angelina and her affable husband, Charlie, at their vacation house in France. At this point, Sharp's book takes an unexpected turn. What seems like a run-of-the-mill chick-lit tale about "the one that got away" becomes a complicated exploration of marriage, what it means to love someone, and how life gets in the way. Adam propels himself into this situation assuming he knows how things are going to play out. Charlie turns out to be more than his amiable, accommodating first impression would indicate, and Angelina shows facets of herself that are a touch more complicated than the girl-of-Adam's-dreams trope. The contrast almost makes this feel like two different novels. The story winds down with a great passive-aggressive song trivia contest, and Simsion delivers an ending that feels hard-won and true, though readers will have to tough out getting there with a little patience. (May)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.