I'll be your blue sky / Marisa de los Santos.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "On the weekend of her wedding, Clare Hobbes meets an elderly woman named Edith Herron. During the course of a single conversation, Edith gives Clare the courage to do what she should have done months earlier: break off her engagement to her charming, yet overly possessive, fiancé. Three weeks later, Clare learns that Edith has died-- and has given her another gift. Nestled in crepe myrtle and hydrangea and perched at the marshy edge of a bay in a small seaside town in Delaware, Blue Sky House now belongs to Clare. Though the former guest house has been empty for years, Clare feels a deep connection to Edith inside its walls, which are decorated with old photographs taken by Edith and her beloved husband, Joseph. Exploring the house, Clare finds two mysterious ledgers hidden beneath the kitchen sink. Edith, it seems, was no ordinary woman-- and Blue Sky House no ordinary place."-- From the publisher.
    • Notes:
      2
    • Other Titles:
      I will be your blue sky.
    • ISBN:
      9780062431936
      0062431935
    • Accession Number:
      2017010829
    • Accession Number:
      979994313
    • Accession Number:
      lcc.180929
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      DE LOS SANTOS, M. I’ll be your blue sky. [s.l.] : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 22 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      De los Santos M. I’ll Be Your Blue Sky. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580. Accessed November 22, 2019.
    • APA:
      De los Santos, M. (2018). I’ll be your blue sky. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      De los Santos, Marisa. 2018. I’ll Be Your Blue Sky. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580.
    • Harvard:
      De los Santos, M. (2018) I’ll be your blue sky. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580 (Accessed: 22 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      De los Santos, M 2018, I’ll be your blue sky, William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, viewed 22 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      De los Santos, Marisa. I’ll Be Your Blue Sky. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      De los Santos, Marisa. I’ll Be Your Blue Sky. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      De los Santos M. I’ll be your blue sky [Internet]. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers; 2018 [cited 2019 Nov 22]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05560a&AN=lcc.180929&custid=s6224580

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 February #1

*Starred Review* Clare's wedding weekend—three days of perfect weather dappling every corner of a picturesque Blue Ridge resort—was filled with the people she loved the most. So why did she feel like she was on the verge of a huge mistake? After sneaking out of her bridal brunch to hide a panic attack, Clare bared her soul to Edith, a kindly older woman with the exact advice Clare needed to hear. The conversation crystallized something in Clare, who walked back into the resort and called off her wedding. Clare never thought she'd hear from Edith again, let alone be named as a beneficiary in her will, but Edith leaves Clare her house, a small beachfront inn in Delaware. Overwhelmed by Edith's generosity, Clare looks into the history of the old house and finds far more than she ever imagined. De los Santos (Connect the Stars, 2015; The Precious One, 2015) brings her signature style, wit, and charm while weaving in beloved characters from her previous novels. Fans of Suzanne Finnamore and Marian Keyes will fall in love with the clarity and poetry in de los Santos' voice. This tender, genuine, and joyful novel is one to savor. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 November #1

Clare Hobbes is at a Virginia hotel for her wedding to Zach. Her uncertainty must be showing because both her mother, Viviana, and her almost-mother Cornelia seem to be offering her a chance to opt out. But Clare loves Zach and knows that he is always trying to do the right thing. An elderly woman at the hotel clarifies things a bit more for Clare, who faces a huge decision. Edith Herron, whose own life unfolds in alternating chapters starting in 1949, was a young bride with a bright future when circumstances took a tragic turn. The story of Edith and Clare's connection slowly starts to take shape when Clare is bequeathed Edith's Delaware beachfront home, Blue Sky House, and its long-held secrets. VERDICT De los Santos (Love Walked In; Belong to Me) here revisits the next generation of her beloved characters, moving the family saga forward with this engrossing story of unshakable love, personal ethics, and a commitment to life's larger truths.—Bette-Lee Fox, Library Journal

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 January #2

Love and mystery surround a darker thread about the safety of women in this complex and moving tale by de los Santos (Love Walked In). The novel's two plots begin, respectively, on the day of Edith Herron's wedding to Joseph in 1950 and the day before Clare Hobbes's marriage to Zach Barfield in the present. At the outset, Edith's life is suffused with light, from the sun on the water near her beach home in Antioch Beach, Del., to the joy that she and Joseph share in their life together. Clare, on the other hand, is hesitant to wed Zach; she is given courage to call it off when, in a chance meeting, Edith advises her that "no one should live with someone who scares her." Three weeks later, Clare escapes Zach by fleeing to Blue Sky House, left to her unexpectedly by Edith upon her death. It is there, with the help of Dev Tremain, Clare's lifelong friend and onetime love, that Clare begins to piece together clues about Edith's past and the fact that the house was once a secret shelter for women in abusive situations. In delving into Edith's past at Blue Sky House, they also make more personal discoveries relevant to their present. The author doesn't sugarcoat the violence that the women have suffered, but she balances those passages with soaring descriptions of everything from the saltwater marshes to Dev's smile. This novel is both lovely and powerful. (Mar.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.